fbpx

 

Local Expert: Andy McSweeney in Bruges, Belgium

Your Itinerary In BrugesOur Local Expert this week hails originally from Montreal, but Andy McSweeney has made his home in Bruges, Belgium since 2002. He has been running Photo Tour Brugge for the last three years, and his company is now at the top of the Trip Advisor attraction ratings.

Andy leads three groups of photographers through the streets of Bruges every day. This makes him more than qualified to offer the prospective traveler advice about where to go, what to do and when to shoot in Bruges.

After talking with Andy about his medieval home I am dying to get over there. His enthusiasm is contagious, and he is a great ambassador for Bruges. I will definitely look Andy up when I get there and buy him a beer or two!

Andy provided me with a comprehensive list of links to share with you. I imagine that most questions are covered between the interview and the list, but if you need more info you can check out the Photo Tour Brugge website and drop Andy a line there. He has also been generous enough to offer a 10% tour discount to Your Itinerary listeners!

Don’t forget to check out Andy’s photography at www.AndyMcPhoto.com

If you would like to be interviewed for a future “Local Expert” episode of Your Itinerary please drop me a line at rob@thisweekinphoto.com or on Twitter @YourItinerary.

Bruges, Belgium Links

Photo Tour Brugge:

www.PhotoTourBrugge.com
3 photo tours daily, availalbe as open tours & private tours
-10% open tour discount code: TWIPyouritinerary

City & Transport Links

City of Brugge : bezoekers.brugge.be/en

Train: www.belgianrail.be/en/ (the app is infinitely better)
Taxi Snel : www.taxisnel.be/

Photo Shops

Tuyttens : www.tuyttens.be (family owned and top end gear)
Fnac : www.nl.fnac.be (general electronics & spare parts)

FOOD & DRINK.

Brewery De Halve Maan : www.halvemaan.be
Café Vlissinghe : www.cafevlissinghe.be/
Cambrinus : www.cambrinus.eu
Pro Deo : www.bistroprodeo.be
Park Restaurant : parkresto.com (does full vegetarian menu on request)
De Karmeliet : www.dekarmeliet.be
Café Rose Red : www.cordoeanier.be/en/rosered.php

Non Photo Activites & Tours:

Museam : bezoekers.brugge.be/musea-brugge-4
Brewery De Halve Maan : www.halvemaan.be
Beer Museum : www.brugesbeermuseum.com
Chocolate Museum : www.choco-story.be/ENG
Historium : www.historium.be/en/home

Quasimundo Bike Tours: www.quasimundo.com
Segway Tours : www.segwaybrugge.be/en
Nathan’s Battlefield Tours : www.visitbruges.org
Boat Tours : www.nvstael.com
Horse Carriage Tours : www.hippo.be/koets

LODGING:

Youth Hostel Lybeer : www.hostellybeer.com
Youth Hostel Charlie Rockets : www.charlierockets.com
The Pand: www.pandhotel.com/
Hotel Adornes : www.adornes.be
Hotel Martins Relais : www.martinshotels.com/en/hotel/martins-relais-oud-huis-amsterdam
Hotel De Tuilerieen : www.hoteltuilerieen.com
Hotel Karel DeStout : www.hotelkareldestoute.be/nl-be/

SURROUNDING AREA :

Damme : www.damme-online.com/gb.htm
Ypres (Ieper) : www.toerismeieper.be/
Ghent : www.visitgent.be/en/home

Share on facebook
Facebook
Share on twitter
Twitter
Share on linkedin
LinkedIn

Stay informed, get on the list!

We'll keep you posted, when we publish!

Get instantly notified of our podcast updates, blog posts, webinars and more. Our email list is the best way to stay connected to TWiP!